Wanna run for office? Get your packets now

CHAMBERSBURG–The 2021 Municipal Primary election season is upon us and the following offices are up for election this year:

  • County Treasurer
  • Magisterial District Judges #39-3-03 & #39-3-07
  • Constables
  • Tax Collectors
  • Township Supervisors
  • Auditors
  • Councilpersons
  • Mayors
  • School Directors
  • Judges & Inspectors of Election

If an individual is interested in running for any of the offices up for election this spring, they will need to request a candidates’ packet from the Franklin County Commissioners’ Office located at 340 North Second Street, Chambersburg (across from the Corpus Christi Church) through February 17th.

On February 18th, the Commissioners’ Office will be moving to the Administration Building located at 272 N. Second Street, Chambersburg. 

For all township, borough and school board positions, a minimum of ten signatures of registered voters is required on their nomination petition in order for their name to be placed on the May 18, 2021 Municipal Primary ballot.  There is no filing fee required for most of these offices.  The last day to file a petition with the Commissioners’ Office for any of these offices is March 9th at 4:30 p.m.

Available on the County’s website (www.franklincountypa.gov) under the Voter & Elections’ homepage is a copy of the Informational Packet for Candidates which gives detailed instructions on running for public office, a handout entitled “Explanation of Rejected and Challenged Petitions” and a 2021 Election Calendar under the tab titled Candidate Election Information. There is also additional links to information about registering to vote, absentee balloting, voting wards, past election results, campaign finance, etc.

Information on qualifications, duties and responsibilities of various elected offices can be found at www.NewPA.com under Local Government Support – Publications/Library.

If an individual has any questions about running for public office, they should contact the Franklin County Election Board at (717) 261-3810.