Over 5.2M vehicles expected on Turnpike between Christmas and New Years

20 December 2023- As the jolly old man in the bright red suit gets ready for his big trip from the North Pole, so, too, are millions of drivers who are planning their holiday travels. The PA Turnpike has planned for an influx of travelers who will be on the roadway over the Christmas and New Year’s holiday travel period. 

The Pennsylvania Turnpike Commission projects 5.2 million vehicles will be on our 564-miles of roadway between Friday, Dec. 22 and Monday, Jan. 1. The projection is about two percent higher than traffic volumes from the same period last year.  

Daily traffic projections for the holiday period are as follows: 

Friday, Dec. 22 610,000 Thursday, Dec. 28 580,000 
Saturday, Dec. 23 450,000 Friday, Dec. 29 600,000 
Sunday, Dec. 24 385,000 Saturday, Dec. 30 375,000 
Monday, Dec. 25 400,000 Sunday, Dec. 31 325,000 
Tuesday, Dec. 26 550,000 Monday, Jan. 1, 2024 335,000 
Wednesday, Dec. 27 590,000 TOTAL 5,200,000 

The Turnpike Commission encourages travelers to prepare by finding our real-time traffic and roadway conditions online and allowing plenty of time to get safely to their destination. December in Pennsylvania can bring any kind of weather from rain to ice and snow.  

Motorists can check roadway conditions including color-coded winter conditions by visiting www.511PA.com. 511PA also allows motorists to set up personalized travel alerts for specific roadways, days of the week, and times of the day. Choose your region and view an hour-by-hour, color-coded representation of traffic speeds to help decide the best times to travel.