Joy El announces directors

GREENCASTLE—Joy El of Greencastle, providers of the Bible Adventure program, the 4.12 Leadership Training Program, summer camps and retreats has been faithfully serving the community for the past 83 years. Joy El recently instated its 2021 board of directors. Penny Marks of Waynesboro continues to serve as board chair for the coming year. Marks is a retired Spanish teacher with the Greencastle-Antrim School District, but continues to teach at St. Andrew’s Catholic School.

In the vice chair seat will be Ward Childerston of Hagerstown. Childerston is a retired General Manager of WCRH Radio in Williamsport. Craig Witmer, treasurer, is a member of the firm of SEK LLC in Chambersburg where he leads the governmental audit practice. Wayne Myers continues to serve as the secretary of the board. Myers is the Manager/Owner of Norland Avenue Pharmacy.

Joy El welcomed three new board members. Dade Royer, a retired Executive Director of the Renfrew Museum and Park; Lawrence Rife IV Esq, an attorney at Hoskinson Wenger & Rife Law Offices in Chambersburg; and Suzette Grazette, a business analyst at Fiserv in Hagerstown, MD.

There is a wealth of experience and personal commitment from the current board members and those recently instated.

“I’m looking forward to the 2021 ministry year at Joy El as we welcome three exceptional new board members from the community.  They will join us in continuing to focus on our mission of “providing opportunities for people to experience life-change through personal encounters with God”.  Penny Marks, Board Chair

Other members of the board are J. Todd Streett, a financial advisor with Edward Jones in Greencastle; Clayton Black, owner of Keystone Ford in Chambersburg; Paul Ritchie, a senior vice-president and financial advisor with Orrstown Bank; and Benjamin Thompson, property manager with Franklin County Housing Authority. Also serving: Rodney Teach, recently retired Chief Financial Officer for Fives Landis Corp; and Scott Stouffer, a Senior Retirement Plan Administrator for SEK LLC, Chambersburg.

“This past year has provided many challenges. The Joy El board has provided courageous leadership that opened the doors for in-person summer camp ministry.  Without their faith and boldness, many children would have missed out on amazing, life-changing experiences. Joy El is well positioned for significant growth both programmatically and in our capital expansion”, shared Aaron E. Ziebarth, Executive Director.

The board members that are concluding their time of service on the board of directors are Curtis Martin, Jill Sprecher, and Dave Matthews. Matthews continues to serve on the Steering Committee for the current Capital Campaign. Martin will continue to serve on the Program Committee. Joy El is grateful for their faithful service.