iPhone users – get ready for the newest update and protect your children

November 27 – The latest iPhone update has some users a little concerned with a feature called NameDrop.

NameDrop allows iPhone users to put their phone next to another iPhone and contact information is automatically shared. 

While some in the business world might be happy with this streamlined ability, imagine it with children and possible predators. 

The feature is apparently enabled by default.  

There is a way to disable it. Go to General, click on AirDrop and then shut off bringing devices together. 

Attorney Clint Barkdoll said, “I will be definitely turning off that feature. There are a lot of these apps now, some really common apps, that apparently some of those terms and conditions are buried in. When you agree to the terms, they have access to all of your contacts in your phone as well. So these are things to be just really, really careful of when you’re using those apps.”

Michele Jansen of NewsTalk 103.7FM added, “Also photos I noticed are in it. It says swap numbers with NameDrop, share photos and more. I don’t want to share my photos with any random phone that comes near mine or vice versa. I have enough stuff. I don’t need yours, either.”

Barkdoll said, “I agree. It’s one of those things, you do the update and it’s going to be automatic in most cases, people just aren’t going to be aware that this feature is even there. They could be walking around or in different situations and if their phone gets within so many inches of another phone, that other phone is going to be able to intercept all of their contacts.”