74 PSP Cadets graduate, including 14 reporting locally

22 December 2023- Colonel Christopher L. Paris, Commissioner of the Pennsylvania State Police, proudly welcomed 74 new Troopers to PSP during their graduation today from the Pennsylvania State Police Academy.

“Today marks the culmination of hard work, determination, and excellence that our cadets exhibited throughout their time at the academy,” said Col. Paris. “I have the utmost confidence that our graduates will now take the knowledge and training they’ve learned to uphold PSP’s mission to protect and serve our great Commonwealth.”

The ceremony for the 168th graduating class was held at the Scottish Rite Cathedral in Harrisburg, where six cadets received the following special awards and recognition:

  • Joshua C. Dauberman: the Colonel Ronald M. Sharpe Leadership Award for exemplifying the qualities of leadership;
  • Anthony R. Bonacci: the John K. Schafer Memorial Award for the highest combined score on a series of physical skills tests;
  • Philip F. Davitt III: the American Legion Award for all-around academic, physical, ethical, and moral qualifications;
  • Anthony V. Rose: the Daniel F. Dunn High Scholastic Award for the highest level of academic achievement in the class;
  • James M. Stamm: the Colonel Paul J. Chylak Memorial Driver Proficiency Award for the highest proficiency in driver safety training;
  • Isaac R.B. Matthews: the Sergeant Charles B. Gesford High Pistol Award for the highest score on the department’s pistol qualification course.

The new troopers will report to the following local troops on Tuesday, January 2: 

Troop H, Harrisburg
Brandon W. Crossley
Joshua C. Dauberman- leadership award winner
Juan F. Gonzalez
Bradley W. Richards
Brook D. Troutman

Troop J, Lancaster
Casey J. Auerbeck
Aron R. Brotzman
Brandon C. Castillo
Zachary J. Cianflone
Philip F. Davitt- American Legion Award Winner
Anthony V. Rose- High Scholastic Award
Nicholas L. Witman

Troop G, Hollidaysburg
Zachary A. Baer
Brandon A. Murarik