18 applicants to be considered by Hagerstown Mayor & Council

HAGERSTOWN – When yesterday’s, 1 March 2023, deadline passed, the City Clerk’s office had received applications from the following qualified candidates:

• Andrew Beach

• Erika Bell

• Stan Brown, Jr.

• Roger Fairbourn

• Sean Flaherty

• Jennifer Gardner

• Cheryl Jacobus

• Joseph Jefferson

• Stacy Lynn Michael

• Gary Nalven

• Scott Nipps

• Chaseray Redman

• Matthew J. Schindler

• Stephen Schutte

• Teresa Shaw

• Heather Tapley

• Melanie Watts

• Altimont Wilks

Two other applicants were disqualified because they did not meet the residency requirement.

The process will now proceed at a Mayor and Council Executive Session (closed meeting) on Tuesday, March 7 to review the applications received and select the individuals they wish to interview.  Those interviews will then take place during the March 14 Work Session (open to the public).  The following Tuesday, March 21, the elected body may choose to either conduct a second interview of selected candidates or to review the interviews of applicants from the previous week in Executive Session (closed to the public).  The Mayor and Council will then appoint the new Councilmember at the Regular Session on Tuesday, March 28.